Param Vir Chakra Award Details and Recipients List

The Param Vir Chakra is the India’s highest military decoration or gallantry award. It is awarded for the highest degree of valour or self-sacrifice in the presence of enemy in air, on land or at sea. In Sanskrit, the word ‘Param’ means Ultimate, ‘Vir means Brave and the word ‘Chakra means ‘Wheel’. So, the literal meaning of Param Vir Chakra is ‘Wheel of the Ultimate Brave’. This gallantry award was instituted on January 26, 1950 as per a notification of the Secretariat of the President of India.

Param Vir Chakra

Param Vir Chakra Award Details:

Category: Indian Gallantry Award

Significance: The highest gallantry award in India.

Year of Institution: 1950

Frequency: No fixed frequency or it is not mandatory to confer the award annually.

Eligibility: Param Vir Chakra is given in recognition of the most conspicuous bravery or some daring or preeminent act of valour or self-sacrifice in the presence of the enemy, whether on land, at sea, or in the air. This highest gallantry award of India may also be awarded posthumously.

Who are eligible? Men and women of all ranks including officers, who served under the Indian Army, the Indian Navy, the Indian Air Force, any of the Reserve Forces, the Territorial Army Militia and other lawfully constituted Armed Forces are eligible. Civilians of either sex serving regularly or temporarily under the orders, directions or supervision of any of the earlier mentioned Forces are eligible. Matrons, Sisters, Nurses and the staff of the Nursing Services and other Hospital and Nursing related services are also eligible for this award.

Conferment: The award is conferred by the President of India.

Medal: The Praram Vir Chakra medal was designed by Swiss-born Savitri Khanolkar, who was later known as Savitri Bai. Medal is circular in shape and 1 3/8 inches (35 mm) in diameter. It is made of bronze. In the front, there are four replicas of ‘Indra’s Vajra’ (thunderbolt) with the embossed State Emblem and the state motto in the centre. On back side, the words ‘Param Vir Chakra’ are embossed both in Hindi and English. There are two lotus flowers between the Hindi and English words. The medal is suspended from a straight swivelling suspension bar.

Riband: The ribbon that accompanies the medal is plain purple in colour.

Bar: If any recipient again perform such an act of bravery, he or she may be awarded with a Bar, will be be attached to the riband. For every such additional act of bravery, an additional Bar is given. Bars may also be awarded posthumously. For every Bar awarded a replica of the ‘Ashok Chakra’ in miniature is added to the riband, when worn alone.

Monetary allowance: Each recipient is offered a financial grant of Rs 10,000 per month. With addition of each bar to the award, another Rs 10,000 is added to the monthly allowance.

List of Param Vir Chakra recipients :

Till 2016, a total of 21 Param Vir Chakras has been awarded, out of which 14 are posthumous. Following are the names of the recipients along with their unit details and actual date of the event for which he/she is decorated:

Sl. No. Name Unit Date & Location
1. Major Somnath Sharma (Posthumous) 4th Battalion, Kumaon Regiment, Indian Army November 3, 1947 at Badgam, Jammu & Kashmir
2. Lance Naik Karam Singh 1st Battalion, Sikh Regiment, Indian Army October 13, 1948 at Tithwal, Jammu & Kashmir
3. Naik Jadu Nath Singh (Posthumous) 1st Battalion, Rajput Regiment, Indian Army February 6, 1948 at Naushera, Jammu & Kashmir
4. Second Lieutenant Rama Raghoba Rane Bombay Sappers, Corps of Engineers, Indian Army April 8, 1948 at Naushera, Jammu & Kashmir
5. Havildar Piru Singh Shekhawat (Posthumous) 6th Battalion, Rajputana Rifles, Indian Army July 17, 1948 Tithwal at Jammu & Kashmir
6. Captain Gurbachan Singh Salaria (Posthumous) 3rd Battalion, 1st Gurkha Rifles, Indian Army December 5, 1961 at Elizabethville, Katanga, Congo
7. Major Dhan Singh Thapa 1st Battalion, 8th Gurkha Rifles, Indian Army October 20, 1962 at Ladakh, Jammu & Kashmir, India
8. Subedar Joginder Singh (Posthumous) 1st Battalion, Sikh Regiment, Indian Army October 23, 1962 at Tongpen La NFA, India
9. Major Shaitan Singh (Posthumous) 13th Battalion, Kumaon Regiment, Indian Army November 18, 1962 at Rezang La, Jammu & Kashmir
10. Havildar Abdul Hamid (Posthumous) 4th Battalion, The Grenadiers, Indian Army September 10, 1965 at Khem Karan Sector, India
11. Lieutenant-Colonel Ardeshir Burzorji Tarapore (Posthumous) 17th Poona Horse, Indian Army October 15, 1965 at Phillora, Sialkot Sector, Pakistan
12. Lance Naik Albert Ekka (Posthumous) 14th Battalion, Brigade of the Guards, Indian Army December 3, 1971 at Gangasagar, Agartala Sector
13. Flying Officer Nirmal Jit Singh Sekhon (Posthumous) No. 18 Squadron, Indian Air Force December 14, 1971 at Srinagar, Jammu & Kashmir
14. Second Lieutenant Arun Khetarpal (Posthumous) 17th Poona Horse, Indian Army December 16, 1971 at Barapind-Jarpal, Shakargarh Sector
15. Major Hoshiar Singh 3rd Battalion, The Grenadiers, Indian Army December 17, 1971 at Basantar River, Shakargarh Sector
16. Naib Subedar Bana Singh 8th Battalion, Jammu and Kashmir Light Infantry, Indian Army May 23, 1987 at Siachen Glacier, Jammu and Kashmir
17. Major Ramaswamy Parameshwaran (Posthumous) 8th Battalion, Mahar Regiment, Indian Army November 25, 1987 at Sri Lanka
18. Captain Manoj Kumar Pandey (Posthumous) 1st Battalion, 11th Gorkha Rifles, Indian Army July 3, 1999 at Khaluber/Juber Top, Batalik sector Kargil, Jammu and Kashmir
19. Grenadier Yogendra Singh Yadav 18th Battalion, The Grenadiers, Indian Army July 4, 1999 at Tiger Hill, Kargil, Jammu and Kashmir
20. Rifleman Sanjay Kumar 13th Battalion, Jammu & Kashmir Rifles, Indian Army July 5, 1999 at Area Flat Top, Kargil, Jammu and Kashmir
21. Captain Vikram Batra (Posthumous) 13th Battalion, Jammu & Kashmir Rifles, Indian Army July 6, 1999 at Point 5140, Point 4875, Kargil, Jammu and Kashmir


  • Indian Navy,
  • Indian Army,
  • Indian Air Force,

Note: The information contained in this article is intended to be a helpful resource for your reference and it should not be relied upon for complicity.

Assams.Info - The Assam Information Portal

One comment in “Param Vir Chakra Award Details and Recipients List

Add Your Comment



(* means required)