Saurabh Kumar Chaliha

Saurabh Kumar Chaliha (1930 – 2011) was a famous Assamese writer. He is well-known for his unique style of writing. He was honoured with several prestigious awards including Sahitya Akademi Award and Assam Valley Literary Award.


Saurabh Kumar Chaliha was born in 1930 in the Mangaldoi town of Darrang District, Assam. His real name was Surendra Nath Medhi. His father name was Kaliram Medhi and mother was Swarnalata Medhi. Chaliha’s schooling started from St. Mary’s Convent in Guwahati. Later he was shifted to Cotton Collegiate School and he passed matriculation from the same. He joined Cotton College in 1946 and passed I.Sc. in 1948. He studied B.Sc. in Physics from Cotton College. But due to his involvement with Marxism, Chaliha got arrested and had to appear B.Sc. examination from the jail. Then he went to London and successfully completed M.Sc. from London University.

Before returning to India, Chaliha worked in multiple educational institutions in Germany. In 1960, he joined Assam Engineering College as a lecturer in Physics. In 1974, Saliha won the Sahitya Akademi Award for his work¬†Goulam (the Slave). But he didn’t went to receive the award¬† His other popular works include Ashanta Electron (restless Electron), Duparia (the noon), Ehat Doba (the game of Chess) and more. In 1995, he was awarded with Assam Valley Literary Award.

Saurabh Kumar Chaliha passed away on June 25, 2012.


Ashanta Electron (1962), Duporia (1963), Ehat Daba (1972), Gulam (1974), Golpo Nohoi (1988), Aji Sukrobar (1992), Abarudha Sahar (1994), Bhal Khobor (1998), Kabi (1999), Ekoish Hotika Dhemali Nohoi (2004), Jonmodin (2005), Junbiri (2006), Dron aru Goethe (2007), Nabajanma (2008), Marudyan (2009) etc.

Assams.Info - The Assam Information Portal

Add Your Comment



(* means required)