Jogesh Das

Jogesh Das (1927 – 1999) is an eminent short-story writer and novelist from Assam. He won the Sahitya Akademi Award for his short stories book Prithibir Okhukh. He is also associated with the Asom Sahitya Sabha and became it’s president in the 1985′s Bihpuria session.


Jogesh Das PhotoJogesh Das was born on April 1, 1927. Das completed his MA in Assamese literature from Gauhati University in 1953 and then started working as a journalist. His first novel of Jogesh Das was Kolpotuwar Mrityu (1953). His popular novel Dawor Aru Nai (Clouds have cleared) came out in the year 1955. It established him as a powerful novelist. Das also wrote many short stories. His short stories collection Prithibir Okhukh (Earth’s Illness) earned him Sahitya Akademi Award in 1980. In 1985, Jogesh Das got elected as the president of Asam Sahitya Saba‘s Bihpuria session. In 1994, Williamson Magor trust honoured him with Assam Valley Literary Award.

Jogesh Das died on September 9, 1999

Works of Jogesh Das:

Novels: Kolpotuwar Mrityu (Death of Kolpotuwa, 1953),  Daawor aaru naai (No more cloud is there, 1955), Jonakir Jui (Flame of the Firefly, 1959), Nirupai-Nirupai (Helpless… Helpless, 1963), Emuthi Dhuli (A Handful of Dust, 1965), Haazaar Phul (Thousands of Flowers, 1967), Nedekha Juir Dhowa (Smoke of an unseen fire, 1972), Obidha (Illegitimate, 1972), Naresh Maloti Aru (Naresh, Maloti and…, 1977)

Story collections: Popiya Tora (Falling Star, 1956), Andharor Are Are (Under the Shadow of Darkness, 1958), Triveni (Confluence of Three, 1961), Modaror Bedona (1963), Haazaar Lokor Bhir (A crowd of thousands, 1965), Prithibir Okhukh (Earth’s Illness).

Other books: Folklore of Assam (1972)

Assams.Info - The Assam Information Portal

One comment in “Jogesh Das

  • Sir I need a novel named daawar aaru naai.please update it on your wbsite as well as all the literary work of jogesh das sir

Add Your Comment



(* means required)