Indian History Multiple Choice Questions (MCQs) Set – 2

Indian History multiple choice questions (MCQs) for competitive examinations (Second Edition). Find below 20 objective questions from Indian History topics. Some of these questions are picked from previous question papers of exams like UPSC CSE, CDS and APSC CCE. As usual, short explanations or descriptions are provided with each answer. We hope candidates and aspirants will find this question set useful. Don’t forget to check our first History MCQ set!

Indian History MCQs with Answers

1. The Kachari King to assume the title ‘Pratap Narayan’ after defeating the Ahoms was:
a) Indrabal Narayan
b) Joso Narayan
c) Nirbhaya Narayan
d) Durlabh Narayan
[APSC CCE 2001]

Answer: b) Jaso Narayan
According to Kachari Buranji, Kachari King Yasho Narayan defeated Ahom army in 1606 and assumed the title ‘Pratap Narayan’.

2. Which among the following was not a cause for the rise of extremism in Indian National Movement?
a) Calcutta Corporation Act
b) Rowlatt Act
c) Universities Act
d) Partition of Bengal

Answer: b)
Some of the main causes of rise of extremism in Indian National Movement include failure of moderates, famine and plague, passing of the Calcutta Corporation Act (1899), passing of Universities Act (1904) and Partition of Bengal (1905). Extremism appeared in 1905, but Rowlatt Acts was passed only in 1919.

3. The All Parties Conference was convened in 1928 to
a) promote communal harmony
b) prepare a plan to overthrow British rule
c) produce constitution acceptable to all parties in India
d) decide whether cooperation should be extended to the British during Second World War.
[APSC 1998]

Answer: c)
In May, 1928, an All Parties Conference was called to draft a new constitution. It appointed a sub-committee under Motilal Nehru. (Source: India Since Independence by Bipin Chandra)

4. Find the wrong combination:
a) Local Self Government – Lord Rippon
b) Factory Act – Lord Lytton
c) Abolition of Sati – Lord William Bentinck
d) Partition of Bengal – Lord Curzon

Answer: b)
Lord Rippon introduced Local Self Government in 1882. Lord Rippon, not Lord Lytton, introduced Factory Act in 1881. Lord Bentinck abolished the practice of Sati in 1829. Lord Curzon approved Partition of Bengal in 1905.

5. The East India Company was established on 31 December 1600 as per the Royal Charter issued by
a) Elizabeth I
b) Elizabeth II
c) Henry VII
d) Henry VIII

Answer: a) The Royal Charter was issued by Queen Elizabeth I.

16. Consider the following statements:
I. British Government sent ‘Cabinet Mission’ to India in 1946.
II. Cabinet Mission was an initiative of Winston Churchill.
III. Stafford Cripps was one of the members of Cabinet Mission.
The correct statements are:
a) I and II
b) II and III
c) I and III
d) I, II and III

Answer: c) I and III are correct.
Cabinet Mission came to Indian in 1946 and it’s members were Stafford Cripps, Pethwick Lawrence and A. V. Alexander. Cabinet Mission was an initiative of then British Prime Minister Clement Attlee, not Winston Churchill.

17. Who founded the Sunga dynasty?
a) Pushyamitra
b) Agnimitra
c) Vasumitra
d) Devabhuti

Answer: a)
Pushyamitra Sunga, who was the commander-in-chief of Mauryas, founded the Sunga dynasty after assassinating the Mauryan Emperor, Brihadratha Maurya.

18. One of the following books is the most important literary source for the study of early history of Assam. Which is the book?
a) Mahabharata
b) Harsha Charita
c) Kalika Puran
d) Arthashastra
[APSC CCE 2001]

Answer: c)
The Kalika Purana is a major source of ancient Assam history. It was composed in Assam during tenth century. It contains vivid description of Kamrupa and Kamakhya.

19. Civil disobedience Movement lead to signing of a pact in 1931. The pact was signed between Mahatma Gandhi and
a) Lord Curzon
b) Lord Willingdon
c) Lord Irwin
d) Lord Mountbatten

Answer: c)
The Gandhi-Irwin pact was signed on March 8, 1931 and Gandhi agreed to suspend the Civil Disobedience and participate in Second Round Table conference.

20. Who founded the “Servants of India Society”?
a) M. G. Ranade
b) G. K. Gokhale
c) S. N. Banerjee
d) Dada Bhai Naoroji
[APSC CCE 1999]

Answer: b)
Gopal Krishna Gokhale founded the Servants of India Society on June 12, 1905 in Pune.

12 comments in “Indian History Multiple Choice Questions (MCQs) Set – 2

  • ratul chakraborty on

    dear sir kindly provide assam secretary junior admiinistrative assistant question paper?


    Many many thanks for these question…plz provide more question .

  • Tanaya medhi trishita123@ on

    thanks .it is really useful .could you provide indian history prelims previous years question papers and answer key

  • sir..i want prelims question paper from 2001 to 2015 of general studies.

  • aiymen latheef on

    can u appload some more questions based on indian hostory and indian freedom struggle

    plss i have exam(mcq)based on this

  • aiymen latheef on

    thnxxx for u r cooperation
    it helped me a lot

  • thank you for such a good step.. please more MCQ&As and the probable questions of Education for prelims 2015 and please name some sources of education from where i would be benefited.kindly Email me..thanks & regards

  • I opted for Education as optional for 2015 . Plz suggest some sources for craking it and plz provide mcqs regarding this education . Thank u

  • namrata singh on

    Commendable initiative, admin. Thank you.

  • Love this site, a lot of crucial questions I benefited from here
    Thank you

  • Gud job admin..kindly upload a question bank on education as well.

  • Thank you for these questions. Please provide more questions.

Add Your Comment



(* means required)